Restrictive Editing

In the Defaults section of the Settings dialog, you can enable Restrictive Editing. When this option is enabled (the checkbox is checked), that means that any inspection-related data for locations, equipment, and components will only be editable when the inspection status for that item is Pending.  This allows you prohibit making changes to all inspection data once the inspection status for any item has been set to anything other than Pending to minimize the possibility of inadvertently changing an item that is "cast in stone" so to speak.  Some users prefer the enforcement of only allowing changes to Pending items, where other users like the flexibility of making changes to any of the data fields regardless of the inspection status.  Choose whichever option suits your workflow the best.

Note that changes to non-inspection related data (such as an item's name, barcode number, manufacturer, etc.) will always be permitted regardless of this setting.