Deleting Items
Aspect allows you to delete items (locations, equipment, problems, and many other types of items including entire sites and inspections). The majority of items you delete are either in the tree views (sites/inspections, locations/equipment, and problems) or in the Global Library Editor. However, whenever you delete most items, they aren't actually deleted but rather sent to the Recycle Bin.
|
|
With the exception of Component Type Groups, items in the global library are NOT sent to the Recycle Bin but instead are deleted permanently. |
Deleting items in the tree views is either accomplished by right-clicking on the item you want to delete and choosing the option to delete from the popup menu, or by using the buttons in the Ribbon Bar. For things like Equipment Components, customer and site contacts, and library items, deleting those items is accomplished by a Delete button. Here are a few things to consider when deleting items:
- Some things like the Customer in the Customer, Sites & Inspections tree view cannot be deleted.
- Deleting a location that contains sub-locations and/or equipment will delete everything in that location. However, if you choose to restore that location, everything contained in that location will also be restored.
- Deleting a problem that has recurring problems based on that problem will delete all of the recurring problems as well.
- Deleting an entire site will delete all associated inspections, locations, equipment, and problems for that site.
- All deleted items with the exception of library items as noted in the warning above can be restored through the Recycle Bin. However, once the Recycle Bin has been purged, those items are permanently deleted and cannot be recovered by any means.
